The Braid Valley Hospital

Today I was at the Braid Valley hospital. This is a hospital for elderly people. I was in the social work department.

I got there at about 5 minutes to 10. I was meant to start at 10.

When I got to the office, I was greeted by three social workers. I already knew that i would be meeting one, but didn’t know there were three!! They all worked in the same office. I basically just found out why an elderly person might need a social worker, and what they did.

Well I found out that the social workers would arrange care packages for the patients, arrange for a patient to go in to full time nursing care if needed, arrange residential care, meet with doctors, ocupational theropists and such, to assess the patient, carrying out patient assessments to see if they can live at home, arrange Discharge planning meetings and arrange carers for people who want to live at home independently but still need some care.

I didn’t do anything today, as it was mainly for information purposes. As well as what I was told, I got stacks of leaflets about different areas of social work. I wasn’t expecting so much. All I need now is to get them brailled.

I don’t know if I would like this field yet. I think I would need some experience with elderly people to make up my mind.

Tomorrow I’m off to The Cedar Foundation.

I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

