First Day At The Hotel

I am backdating these entries to the day that we did the stuff to make it more realistic. I didn’t really have time to post at the hotel. I will write them as if i did post at it though. I did bring my laptop, but didn’t use it much. I will probably do a separate entry for each day. Hope this is okay. Anyway here’s Wednesdays entry about me going to the
Hotel
With Guidedogs.

I was picked up at about 20 past 9 on Wednesday morning. My friend was already in the car. There were going to be 3 clients at the hotel, but we hadn’t met the 3rd yet.

We got to the hotel at about half 10 ish. There was another rehab worker bringing the third client down, but they weren’t there yet. Our rooms weren’t ready, so my rehab worker gave us a quick sighted guide orrientation around the hotel, so we could build up a bit of a map of where we were.

When the other rehab worker arrived, we were introduced to the 3rd client. He was nice.

Since everyone was together, we went into a quiet part of the restaurant, which was actually the bottom end of it, to discuss the skedule. Some of the plans were changed, due to the rooms not being ready and stuff. Before we had finished my rehab worker asked me if i was alright, and to make sure i was happy. I just said that i was worried about the gait again, what’s new!!!!!!!!! I found it hard when someone else talked about the gait. I was fine explaining but when someone answered any of my questions relating to it, i just felt really upset.

Anyway, after that, we started to do some work. Since the rooms weren’t ready yet, we started to learn the route from reception to roughly where our rooms would be and where the restaurant and bar were with our canes. I worked with the other rehab worker i mentioned. She couldn’t believe how quick i was!!!!!!!!!! I asked her if she wanted me to slow down, but she wanted me to stay at my normal speed. We only learnt the route up to our rooms at this point.

By this time, our “Lounge” was ready. This was a bedroom that has been converted in to a lounge for Guidedogs. Apparently they do it any time there are guidedog classes on. It was very lush!!!!!!!!!!!! We were sitting there while one of the rehab workers took another person down to show them the route.

while we were waiting, there was a new GDMI who came up to see us. She braught down a guidedog owner who works at the Guidedogs office too. This was just so we could have a chat with them and they could answer any questions we had.

After this, we learnt the route back from the lounge to the restaurant. It was lunch time by this time. The GDMI and the guidedog owner stayed for lunch and a little afterwords.

The menu was massive!!!!!!!!! I chose to have a Veggie soup, with a bread roll, and a glass of club orrange. A good amount of craic was had. We decided to have our lunch in the bar. Apparently this is where we will have our lunch when we are on class. It was bloody brilliant too!!!!!!!!!!!

After lunch, our rooms were ready. We got given our cards, which we would use to open the doors to our rooms. We also got given a lounge key, which was cleverly punched in the bottom corner, so that we would know the difference between cards. I thought this was really useful. We were then taken in turns to see our rooms. Mine was next door to the lounge, so that was good.

I was first shown how to work the card. It took ages for me to get it working. I was pritty pissed off with it within the first 5 minutes!!!!! Anyway, once i finally got the room open, i got to see all around it.

First of all, i was shown around the bathroom, which was an On sweet. This was great!!!!! Theres’s nothing worse than having to queue for the bathroom!!!!!!!!!!!! I was shown where the toilet was, and how to work the flush. Next was the sink, and then the bath and shower. The shower was quite weird to work really. You had two nobs at the side of a big flat thing, where the taps were. You had to hold in a button when turning the nobs. There was a button at each nob. This was to get the right temperature. Then you had another nob in the middle, which you pulled up to work the shower.

After this, i was shown the rest of the room. I was shown howthe TV worked, how the kettle worked, where the plug sockets were, and the security features on the door, which were a lock, and a latch. I was also shown where i could put my laptop. I discovered that to have the power on, you had to put your card into a slot in the wall so that everything would work. I headed back to the lounge after that, as the other people were going to get shown round their rooms. I stayed and talked to the GDMI and guidedog owner.

After everyone was shown around their rooms, we just chilled for a bit in the lounge. The GDMI and guidedog owner had to go home shortly after.

After that, we were shown around the Ladies toilets, and where we sat in the bar and restaurant. We sat at the first table on the left in the bar, and at the second table on the right in the restaurant. We were also shown the smoking area, and that would be where we would go if we needed to get out of the building in a fire drill.

It was back up to the lounge after this.

My rehab worker went down to reception to see about the internet access. We got two cards which allowed us access for 24 hours. It was a bit hard to set up at first, but we eventually got it. My computer took ages to start though. After i got my computer started, i had to help one of the other people set it up lol. It was more chatting and hanging about in the lounge after this.

It was about 7 o’clock at this point, so we went down to get some grub for dinner. We were going to eat in the restaurant for dinner, but we decided to eat in the bar.
The dinner menu was twice as long as the lunch menu. I had good old fashioned Codd, chips, and mushy peas. Ya can’t beat that sometimes!!!!!!!! I also had coke, and a lovely chocolate fudge cake. We discussed what time we would go for breakfast, and we all agreed that 8 o’clock would be time enough to get breakfast. We asked if we could go down independently, and that was allowed so that was good.

After that, we had a bit of craic, and a couple of drinks. I had 2 bottles of Pinapple Bacardy breezer. One of my friends friends came down afterwords. We were allowed visitors. He baught me another bottle of Bacardy, but i felt a bit bloated, so i didn’t drink it. I went to the loo about halfway through, and didn’t come down for a while. I was talking to my mum and that. My friend phoned me to make sure i was okay!!!!!! I thought that was really nice!!!!!!

We didn’t head up to the lounge until about half 11!!!!!! The other client went to bed at this point, so me and my friend just chatted in the lounge for a while. She had braught her tin whistle, so she played that for a while!!!!! She was damn good!!!!!!

We went to bed at about 12 o’clock. I checked my emails first.

The first day was awsum!!!!!!!!!! I felt much more relaxed after i had a bit of craic.

That was what happened on day one at the hotel. I will write days 2 and 3 tomorrow maybe, when i feel like it. I will backdate them to the orrigenal day as well. I was so glad i could successfully get about the hotel independently!!!!! I loved the independence and freedom!!!!!

I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

