No More Courses?

Well since i’m officially finished at the college now, i was thinking about what to do next year.

On the last day of the
Essential Skills
Class, i met with the support person to discuss courses so that she could get an idea of what i might need and such. We looked through the prospectus, and came up with a few suggestions. Staying on the theme of computers, i was possibly thinking of doing
The Level 3 Text Processing qualification
Which would be good to improve my typing of professional documents and such. It would also maybe get me closer to being qualified to teach JAWS, and would be another qualification to add to the old CV. Our college only does level 3, for some reason. I actually found out that
Those word processing
Exams I had mentioned that i did at school were actually the level 1 qualification of the Text processing. I should go back and change the titles of those posts, but i can’t be bothered.

Anyway the next course on the list that i was considering, was a cooking course. This course would be for beginners, and i thought it would be good, as it would give me the motivation to actually cook again (haven’t done it in 2 years lol), but the only thing that bothers me about doing it is that there is going to be about 14 in our class if i did do it, including my friend who also happens to be blind. The support person says that they can get us an assistant or something to help us, but i have had bad experiences. In school we had a substitute teacher who basically thought that we weren’t capable. I would just be scared of that happening again. Although i am now an adult, so i would hopefully have the balls to actually say when i needed help. I’m also nervous about the fact that there would be such a big class, and apparently the kitchen isn’t that big. It doesn’t start til January though, so that’s good.

I was thinking though recently that the text processing might not be that good since i probably would know most of it, and it’s quite a big jump from level 1 to level 3. I was also thinking “Do i really need to go to college this year again?” I mean i have been for the past two years, doing the
GCSE Maths,
The GCSE English,
And
The Essential Skills
Courses. I mean do i really need to keep going back? Should i be thinking of this?

Of course during the day i would still be going to the
Cedar Foundation
2 and a half days a week teaching computers to blind and partially sighted people (as a volunteer), and hopefully i will be doing some quilting that i talked about in a
Previous Entry
(I have been in contact with a local woman who is willing to let me try, and is hoping to run a course for 6 weeks). She has even offered to meet me beforehand.

I will also hopefully still be involved with the
Eye Matter
Group i’ve mentioned.

Do you guys think that i should go back to college, or is it okay to take a year out? Would it be too much for me to go to college and then have to abandon it for when i hopefully go to get my guide dog? (A girl can hope).

I would be interested to know what you all think. I have a couple of months yet, so that will be plenty of time to make a decition. I think our college is open for enrollment for ages.

Thanks for any thoughts. Sorry for so many links lol. I just like referring people back to important entries.

Anyway i think this post is long enough lol. Cheers for any feedback.

2 Comments on “No More Courses?”

  1. Jen says:

    I'd need to do that cooking course haha. The class does seem a bit big but if you have an assistant and want to do it, don't let previous experiences put you off.Personally, I think there's no harm in studying or doing courses if its something your interested in. Like you said, its always good for the cv, and it can be a long day at home when your not busy. You'd have another route to do with the dog then, but you'd have to make sure they'd be flexible when you go training.Nobody can decide though, its up to you :)Jen x

  2. Torie says:

    Hey Jeniffer. I'm fine by the way.The only reason why i want to do the cooking is that i feel that i have been sitting on my arse relying on people to cook me things for too long. I need to buy equipment for home such as a slow cooker. I used this at school, and it was much less scarey than the ring. It plugs into a wall, and is like a big saucepan type thingie. There is only one button on it to control it, so it would deffinetly lessen the risk of getting burned!!!The route that i am doing now, goes through town anyway, and it takes me to the college.I might have a look at that link you sent me in the email. Will i just email them and see what they say? That would also be another option.I looked up workable, but don't know what scheme would be the best.Thanksfor the info though!!! Xxxx


I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

