5th Day Of Home Training

Today was a nice chilled out day as far as work was concerned.

Both instructors joined me again, at about 10 o’clock. We first did the matching walk we did yesterday, and it went rather well. We even had an “off kerb” obsticle at one point. They said that if i really wanted, I could ask for my neighbours to park in spiciffic places, but I pointed out that I wouldn’t be able to practice my “off kerb” obsticles!

The only real mistake was that I thought there was a rounded kerb, and in fact it was, but I couldn’t understand why you would go left on the up kerb when i had indented left on the down kerb. I thought that you would outdent to the right again since that is what you do when you indent to the left. Apparently though if you are doing a turn, you just carry on going left or right, no matter what way you indented.

Apart from that, it seemed like a good walk. The instructors told me though that they want me to try working things out a bit more, and only relying on the instructor if i really need it. Hopefully nothing bad will happen!

When we got back to the house, we put Ushi in the car, and drove off to our local park. There is a nice open part that you come to after you walk through the park called the “5 mile walk”. We decided to let Ushi have a run here. We put the “halty” on her again, and she was great. I went through all the usual obedience that one must do before a free run, and then let her go. I was expecting her to run all over the place, as this was what she did on class. Instead, she ran but still kept an eye on me, which was good. It was a nice relaxing end to a day. I discovered that a dog does most of its running in the first 15 minutes. They will still run, but all their excitement is in the first 15 minutes. I think so anyway.

After that, I just chilled for the rest of the weekend. What a great end to a week!

7 Comments on “5th Day Of Home Training”

  1. Carin says:

    Awesome. Sounds like fun.Don't worry so much about making mistakes. I know that's hard. Just remember which side the traffic *should* be on, thus you know which way you don't want to veer in a crossing. That is the most important thing to think about to keep you safe. Every other kind of mistake won't put you in danger, it'll just get you a bit turned around. You also know where your…what did you call it, guiding road? should be, so if it's not, just stop and problem solve it out.I'm glad they're encouraging you to figure it out yourself, because eventually you're gonna have to fly solo. Hey, before you're done training, are they going to watch you from far, far, far away? Do you have public transit in your area? Are you going to take it with them?

  2. Carin says:

    And hey, would ya look at that, we're up to current time!

  3. Torie says:

    Oh yes!!!! Yes we do have public transport, but i am not going to tackle that yet. They will come out again if in the future i want to do that or learn a new route. They just want me to get comfy on these first couple of routes first. They walk really far behind yeah. Today was great, apart from the end of the walk when Ushi had to go and get all distracted! I'll post that later though. It's great to be up to speed with the entries! Xxx.

  4. Carin says:

    Hmmm. This is just my opinion, but I would get as much info as you can. What if suddenly you need the bus, and the instructors can't come to see you? But maybe that's my opinion because I use the bus all the time. I dunno. I just know from experience that instructors say they're only a phone call away, but logistically they can't be at your beck and call as much as that.

  5. Torie says:

    Well i want to get used to using my home area first, before I attempt to get on a bus or train. (prob train as busses on't announce stops). They are only about 45 minutes away from me, and they visit me regularly after I qualify. It's after a week, then every 6 weeks, 3 months, then a year for aftercare. I can do a route then and there if i need it, and they can come up to see me if i give them a few days notice.But good point though!! I mostly walk everywhere, but they showed me how to get in and out of taxis and stuff which is good. Don't want to use trains for a couple months though.Take care, xxx.

  6. Terri says:

    I would learn how to get onto a bus, its easier and safer than getting on a train. I use the train because the bus service is rubbish down here but i hate getting on the train, the gap is normally huge, its very worrying. The trainers do get very busy with training, so towards the end of your training maybe just try doing a short route and after time the dogs do get to know when your getting off and they jump up ready to get off, its rather amazing.I have aftercare this week on Friday, another GDMI is coming to see me, she did my very last assesment and i hardly know her but thats because my trainer is busy on class

  7. Torie says:

    I would rather have trains, since the gap is a hell of alot smaller than it used to be. I don't use them much-only go on them maybe once a month. We mostly walk everywhere-so poor Ushi will be extremely fit!Awww good luck for your aftercare. I wish you had the blog again as it's good to know what the craic is lol.Take care, xxx.


I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

