Snowy Icey White Stuff

Hey gang! It’s Ushi again. Mum let me on the computer for a while.

First of all, before I tell you about what we’ve been up to, what is this snowy icey white stuff? It feels all cold and bouncey and when I sniff it and eat it it’s all cold and feels really fluffy. Plus sometimes it gets on me, but when i shake it goes away. It doesn’t leave my coat wet like the horrible rain. Do any of you know why it’s here? Will it be here for long?

Anyway i’m sure you’re all wondering what i’ve been up to….

Did I tell you about learning a new route? Well I think it was about a month ago. The instructor who works with my old mum came out to see us. I must tell you though about our adventure before we started learning the route….

Mum decided to work me before we would go out. She said just to “calm me down” or something like that. We were doing the route to the shop where I have to “find the counter”. It was really really wet and horrible and windy. On part of the route I decided to be a wee bit naughty and get just a teeny bit distracted, but not so much that Mum would notice. She kept going, and noticed that something didn’t feel right. She kept getting me to go back, and even told me to “find a kerb” to give me a destination, but I couldn’t find it! The only thing I could find was grass. Maybe getting distracted wasn’t such a good idea? Mum ended up calling her mum to come and get us. I couldn’t understand where she came from though! Anyway mum followed her voice, and then we got on our way.

Mum was a little worried though as the instructor was going to be coming out soon. We got back in time just as the instructor came.

Mum left me in the house while she went out with the instructor. She took my harness though, so I don’t know what she was up to.

When they came back, I got to come. I got in the instructors car, and got to sit between mums legs. I liked that.

We drove out to where I find the shop, and then mum put my harness on. The instructor followed behind, while I tried to guide mum who was directing me.

I guess she took the harness earlier to help her familiarise herself with the route so she could direct me.

We went into a shopping centre! It was really really busy so I didn’t have time to get distracted. I had to pay attention and guide mum past all the people and stuff. Then I had to help mum find the coffee shop. We did it a couple of times just to make sure that mum knew where it was, and that I knew that mum would be really happy if i found it for her.

We then went home after that, but mum wasn’t sure where to go, so she kept hanging back. She does that when she is nervous, you see. It is bad though cause then I can’t guide her!

The instructor came out for a couple more days making sure that mum knew where she was going.

One of the days they had coffee in that shop, but I had to be a good guide dog and lie under the table while mum and the instructor talked.

I also got a couple of new toys! Mum baught me a Kong, and a rubber thingie that she could throw. I unfortunately broke that, but I love the kong! She can put stuff in it too, but i’m happy with her just bouncing it!

Things have just been the same really as usual, apart from me getting a new nylabone. It’s much bigger than my old one, and I love it!

The snowy white stuff came on Thursday I think. That night it was really slippery, so mum really got me to “steady” just to make sure we didn’t slip. She was all nervous and stuff too. We have only been able to do the really small route unfortunately. I keep rushing on the snow, as I don’t like it on my paws! Plus mum is all tense and stuff.

Mum decided to do the big route on Sunday, but at one point there were these naughty kids who kept getting me all excited! I tried to listen to mum, but as you know I love children! Mum corrected me, then it started snowing at one point, and mum told me to find a kerb, but i couldn’t, so looked for a more deffinet kerb. We ended up in a housing estate, so mum had to phone her dad to come and get me. It was just too snowy and it covered my kerb! Mum said that she couldn’t really pick up obsticles and stuff either.

Yesterday we were back on the small block route. I was naughty and stopped and mum thought there was an obsticle, but i just wanted to eat the snow! Then I couldn’t find home.

Today mum said it was too icey to work me. So she just let me play in it! It was all slidey and all, so I kept sliding!

Mum is getting a bit down about not being able to work me. I hope she can work me tomorrow!

Mum wants to groom me now, so am going to go here.

The good thing about the snow is i get to play in it, but the bad thing is that it’s cold and that we can’t work too well!

How are you all getting on in the snow?

Waggies and woofies,

Ushi Xxx

3 Comments on “Snowy Icey White Stuff”

  1. Jen says:

    Hey Ushi!The white stuff is snow, and don't worry, it won't be here forever. The ice will last longer than the snow, and that's the stuff you need to be really careful with. Its evil! Last year I hardly worked for a month. I didn't forget anything though so it was fine.I had to bring Jen to work really carefully today but I did it. Go me!I haven't got a new toy in ages. Not fair! Suppose I've got Dougal to play with all the time so that's good.Chat laterwoof woof, OJ

  2. Tia says:

    Ushi, the white stuff apparently comes from the sky, but I still can't work out why it's white. The human has been no help here. Dogface says it's fun to eat, and you should ignore your people when she tells you off for doing it. She also says you should make your people throw snow balls for you to catch. She thinks it's great fun, but I don't fancy getting my paws cold in the snow. I'll just stay inside and let others do the work. I'd recommend you do the same. The human says not to worry about not working in conditions like this. You deserve to keep warm! Get your people to fill your kong with yucky stinky wet dog food. Dogface loves licking all of hers out, and if the human freezes it for a few hours first, she says it's like icecream for Dogfaces. It takes a long time to get all of the food out that way.

  3. Torie says:

    Hey Tia. Mum has told me about you and your human. Welcome to the blog!Mum doesn't have any wet dog food. She was wondering if she put some of my food in the kong along with a bit of water would that work the same way?She says the snow is really really deep. She hasn't worked me for three whole days. I must suggest the snowballs! It sounds so fun!The ice is so crunchy and all.Go Oj! I bet it was hard not to resist eating the ice and all while guiding Jen to work and all.What a pity you don't have any new toys!Mum was really bad lol and put some snow on my back! I wasn't expecting it! It gave me a bit of a fright!And do our humans really think that if we don't work we will forget things? Sheesh!Xxx.


I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

