How Are The Two Dogs?

Yesterday I told you all about how I introduced Ushi to Ash, and that they seemed to get on.

Well dad braught her up today. She first of all sniffed around, then went out to the kitchen to drop her load. That was exactly what Ushi did yesterday too, so maybe they were marking their teratory? It’s a bit weird that they both decided to drop their loads as a greeting. I think Ushi was just holding on, though.

After about an hour, I braught Ushi down to see Ash again. Their tails were waggling away. They basically ignored each other. Lots of sniffing of bums has happened throughout the day by Ushi, but as one enters the room, the other one goes out of the room!

I would much rather have this though, as it’s far far far better than growling or anything like that. Maybe i’m just being crazy for thinking this? I do think that it will work though. There is absolutely no growling or anything like that at all. I think it is mainly the size difference that is making Ash so nervous. I’m not worried about them though, and if something was going to happen surely would it not have happened by now?

My brothers love her, and she seems settled. She is lying on her bed at the moment downstairs, and Ushi is up here chewing her nylabone. (Ash can’t get up the stairs, bless her).

So here’s to a successful mix with them, and hopefully it stays that way! Sorry for the post being so short, but I just thought i’d update you all on what the situation is with them.

I’m not sure if I should let the team know of guide dogs, but at the end of the day, as long as it’s not affecting Ushi workwise, then they shouldn’t be too worried and it can wait til the next aftercare later this month.

One more thing before I go-Ushi has a bed that’s like a big pillo thingie. The cover can be washed in the washing machine, but the bed is getting a bit wiffy. What can I use on the main bed part? I’d be scared of it falling apart if I put it in the wash. Even just something to spray on it to take away the wiff and kill any bacteria? It would have to be something pet friendly as she is quite a licker.

Thanks.

6 Comments on “How Are The Two Dogs?”

  1. Katrin says:

    We have stuff called Natures Miracle here that works great on getting pet odors out of things. You spray it on. It is an enzymatic cleaner. I use it all the time.

  2. Jen says:

    Glad the dogs are getting on well. Ignoring each other is definitely better than growling.The toileting thing is funny. I've seen dogs peeing to mark their territory but never a number 2. Interesting!

  3. Tia says:

    Tori, my human used baking soda on the spots I peed on on the sofa when I was making a point. Gotta be done, you know? She says you sprinkle it on, rub it in a bit, leave it for about 15 minutes, then take it up with the hoover. It's a natural way of killing all odours. It's what's in a lot of carpet fresheners, and as it isn't scented, it won't do anything silly like encouraging her to pee there. I never peed when the human used melon scented carpet cleaner, at least, not on the carpets anyway, but she's a dogface, and their brains aren't as big as ours. I wouldn't take the chance if I was you.

  4. Torie says:

    Tia I didn't know that certain smells could make a dog pee. How interesting! I will have to get some Baking soda. I'm sure it's pritty easy to get a hold of.Jeniffer-They actually lay in the same room yesterday. They are following each other about loads lol. Yesterday Ash took a busy on the carpet, and it was wiped up, but ushi went over, sniffed and sat down, so I quickly got her to go the other way (it had been clean for about an hour). That seemed to work. I just panicked in case she decided to do a busy too lol.Thanks for the suggestions though. Xxx.

  5. Michelle says:

    Hey if you're worried about Ushi crapping and peeing in the house with this other dog around, I'd suggest you take her out more often to teach her that she still needs her own routine and that she can't get away with this just because other animals are around. If I'm correct, your after-care person might even check on her toilet routine too.Let us all know how it all goes for you!Michelle

  6. Torie says:

    Michelle Ushi has been grand and is going fabulously when I take her out. Ash the other dog is just taking a while to get into a good spending routine. As long as it doesn't affect Ushi I don't mind.I'll let you all know what the craic is on Monday. I hope you're all not bored with all the guide dog posts! Xxx.


I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

