Finally Up And Running?

Remember about 7 or 8 months ago I mentioned about
Quilting
And how possible it would be to do it? Well I might just have found the answer!

I was put in touch with a lady who did quilting. I contacted her on and off, and she agreed to meet with me to see if we could sort something out.

Each time we have agreed to meet though, life has got in the way. What with me going on class with Ushi, to just not being free.

I sent her a message just on the off chance that she would be free sometime this week. I got a message back last night saying that she was indeed free to meet with me today at our local coffee shop. Iwas thrilled. Was this it finally getting up and running?

I got up bright and early this morning. I wasn’t meeting the woman until about 11 o’clockish, so decided to leave at 10 just in case we had any problems.

We arrived with plenty of time to spare, at approximately half past 10 lol. So maybe leaving early wasn’t needed lol.

I got Ushi to find the counter, but we were at the wrong end of it lol. A kind lady took me down to the bottom end though which was good. I ordered an orange juice and then was taken to a table. I was very impressed about how helpful they were. Once I was seated, I got the dog settled. It was one of those bench things that are like couches. It was very narrow at the table, so I just got Ushi to lie down just beside the table. It meant that she had more room if she wanted to sleep or anything.

I sat anxiously checking the time, and wondering if the woman would turn up. While I was waiting, the lady that served me I think came over and asked if she could pet Ushi. I told her I really appreciated her asking, and that alot of people didn’t ask. She said it was no problem. We chatted for a while, until the woman came.

I let her and Ushi say hello (I had her off harness) first, and explained a bit about how the dog comes to be with me or any other owner really. I didn’t go into alot of detail though. She thought it was fascinating. She then went on to tell me about how she had seen a woman working the dogs and she thought that one of them was me (that was my instructor when she was working Ushi and all before I went on class). I then explained about the training we both had to go through and that.
We then got talking about the actual quilting. She says that there is no reason why I can’t do it. She says she will get me a hoop (I think it’s like a frame and the fabric sits between the two parts of it). I thought the hoop was one of those ones that schools use for PE! She says I can use thicker thread, and that it wouldn’t matter what colour the quilt turned out to be. She suggested that I could use a piece of masking tape or something so that I could feel it and work along that line. I was so pleased that she was willing to give it a go and that she was wanting me to be able to do it. Happy days!

She is going to get me a needle threader as she says it might be easier than threading the needles myself.
So on Monday we are going to meet again and we will decide where we will go from there. She will look for the hoop for me and then we will get started!

I can’t wait to get started. I am so glad that she is willing to give it a go. She said that her aunt was blind so she at least knew a little about visual impairment which was good.

We then talked some more about Ushi and how I use a computer and stuff like that.

She was a very nice woman but she did like to talk! I suppose it’s better than silence though.

She says that we are going to have breakfast on Monday so I hope that she knows that Ushi can’t be fed anything!

Ushi was grand throughout the whole thing. She did sit up once or twice but I just let her since she wasn’t doing anybody any harm or anything. Most of the time she just dozed though. This was really my first time totally on my own in a coffee shop. I’m so glad I could control her and that she behaved!

She did rush a bit on the way home though, and there was one point where I wasn’t really on the ball and thought that we were going the wrong way!

Apart from that, it was a fabulous day. I’m so glad that the quilting might get up and running finally! I’ll let you know how Monday goes. Hopefully Ushi will be just as behaved as today!

5 Comments on “Finally Up And Running?”

  1. Jen says:

    Yay for going on your own! That's great you might get started soon.

  2. Torie says:

    I did go there before, but it was always with the instructors or just to build my confidence up. Tomorrow will be the test though as i'm meeting another guide dog owner! Xxx.

  3. Sounds fun. :)Have fun tomorrow. I'm sure you guys will do fine.

  4. L^2 says:

    Yay, So glad you finally found someone who is willing to teach you to quilt!

  5. Torie says:

    So am I. I just hope I like it!And Jess-things didn't go to plan yesterday. Both dogs just wanted to play but they did eventually settle down. I just corrected loads. Thinking of taking them free running together to see if that helps. Xxx.


I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

