"She’ll Take Them Straight Out Of Your Hands…"

No she won’t.

Today was Ushi’s 6 monthly visit to the vets. Guide dogs recommends that guide dogs are seen every 6 months for a checkup unless they are sick, in which case they would come in earlier if needed. I was also getting her her anual vaxinations.

So yesterday I booked the appointment. I wasn’t sure what the vaxination was that she had to get, so I just said that it was her yearly booster. I booked it for half two today.

I was also going to get her Front line flea treatment and her worming tablet.

So off we went today. I was kind of excited and a bit nervous, as I didn’t know how she would react to the injection or anything.

It was really really warm when we got there. Ushi just was panting away. She sounded like a train! I didn’t think we would need water, though next time I might have to bring some! She got a little bored waiting, so she just lay down.

When the vet called us in, I decided to take her Halty off, so that the vet could look at her nose and eyes and that and in case he wanted her on the examening table. (I mustn’t have actually taken it off, cause when I took her out to spend afterwards it was on but unbuckled!). The vet said that she would be okay on the floor. He listened to her heart, and just had a general look. Everything was grand. He then went off to get the injection. While we were waiting, I heard another dog coming towards us, and started to panick. (I think there was a corridor at the back, and our surgery was kind of open). When the vet was getting her injection ready, Ushi just kind of looked at us. I was expecting a big yelp, but she never made a sound! She just panted lol. Good girl! I am so relieved that she didn’t mind the injection. Thank god! We asked if there would be any affects from it, but the nurse just said that it might make her a bit drouzy. (We pointed out that we wouldn’t really notice the difference with her)! We then took her out to reception and popped her on the scales. She is 33 Kilograms. (Her working weight is 27 Kilos, her optimum weight is 29, but the instructors haven’t minded that she is going up. Back in November she was something like 31.5, and within two weeks had gone up to 32.1 or something, so we cut her food from 200 grams in the morning, to 150 in the morning and evening. From then on she has only gone up gradually. I think the extra will come off once I start working her more than once a day now that it is nicer weather.).

I was then given her worming tablets and her flea treatment. The vet said that I need to worm Ushi every 2 months, and have her front line every 3 months. (I was told by my GDMI and the Dog Care And Welfare Advisor that she needed the worming every 6 months, and the flea treatment once a month from April until about October.). I explained this, but they said it wasn’t right. So I’m a bit confused about that one lol. The vet said that Ushi would take the worming tablet “Just like a treat” and not to feed her them on an empty stomach. They came in individual packets, one in each, and were called something like “Millimax” or something like that.

We left after that.

Well when I fed Ushi I thought that i’d give her her tablets. Well she didn’t “just take them like treats”. I gave her one, and she took it, so I thought she was going to eat it somewhere else (she does this lol with treats and stuff), but no, my girl had to be awkward! Out it came! So dad came over and started to give her it and hold her mouth closed and rub her throat to make it go down. Out it came again. We tried about three or four times, and each time Ushi would manage to spit it out or pretend to swallo. So after about the fifth time of trying, dad practically just chucked them down there. They finally went down! She kept making horrible noises like she was going to be sick. I was expecting her to go down and instead of doing her busy in the garden, I was expecting her to make herself sick! But thankfully the wee minx didn’t which was good. So I think soft cheese or bread and butter with the tablet will have to do next time! I hope they work! Knowing me, Ushi will know what it is though.

I haven’t done the front line yet as I want to wait until the last spend of the night. I really hope I put it on right. I find her skin really hard to feel, so am going to get my sister to make sure it’s on her skin, then fire away!

I’m glad it was a successful visit, and she has no problems! (I knew that anyway but it’s still nice to hear).

One Comment on “"She’ll Take Them Straight Out Of Your Hands…"”

  1. Terri says:

    Ushi is now offically heavier than Uma! Uma's only 32.4 her optimum weight is 33kg though. I put Uma's worming tablet in her food and she eats it and doesnt even noticeIt depends what tablets they give you, i have advocate which i give Uma every month then every 6 months she gets wormed.


I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

