The Ballymena Show 2011

Today was the 2011
Ballymena show
This is an event every year where cattle are shown, but not sold. There are lots of farming things that happen, like tractors on display as well as show jumping and such. It is meant to be the second largest agricultural show in Northern Ireland, next to
Balmoral Show
In Belfast, but I don’t think it’s that good lol. (When you click on the link for the Ballymena show, there is a vidio of a person talking, but you should still be able to read each page).

This year Guide dogs had managed to get a stand at the show, so today I was going to be doing the 11 o’clock to 1 shift. Luckily enough, we had a big Gizeebo type thing which I mentioned briefly in
My last entry

So we were picked up by the treasurer of our fundraising branch. She drove us to the gate nearer our stand, whilst me, her son and another volunteer went in. (We had been given passes to enter the show for free because we were a charity i think). Again, getting out of the car I put Ushi’s halty on. This really seems to cut down on her pulling. I took it off as soon as we got to where we were going to be though.

Almost as soon as we got to where we were, we started to get people. Well I think they were from before we arrived.

We mostly had kids coming into see us, but there were a few adults. We were saying about how it costs £50,000 to support a guide dog throughout its working life right from it’s a puppy. One dude was that shocked that he got money out immediatly. We weren’t really intending to make him feel guilty or anything, but I think people should know how much it does cost for a guide dog, considering the organisation doesn’t get any government funding.

My friend came at about half 12, with her dog Della. They had a little play around, but then we had one on one side of my friend and Della on the other. They just sniffed after that.

We were just gabbing away when my friend told me about something called a
Furminator
I have heard of this product, but is it good? Can it be used with a zoom groom? It would be interesting to see one.

We finished shortly after that.

Unfortunately the Gizeebo was set up on concrete, so the rain kind of kept coming in. Ushi’s belly was kind of dirty then lol. She didn’t know what to make of the sheep though! Every time she heard one (they were behind us), she looked round as if to say “what’s that?”. The same as when a little girl blew bubbles in front of her lol.

It was a good day, and thank you again to the branch organiser for making it such good craic.

5 Comments on “The Ballymena Show 2011”

  1. Jen says:

    Nobody should own a labrador without owning a furminator as well.Seriously, best inventions ever!They get rid of dead hair that a zoom groom never could.If I ever make it to Belfast I can show you oj's and how to use it if you want.

  2. Terri says:

    i brought one off ebay for about £10 and Uma absoultely hated it. She backed into a corner on the grooming room table here and i've only used it a couple of times on her. I much prefer the zoom groom for Uma as i brush her most days and loads of hair comes out. I would recomend doing as i did and buying a cheap one from ebay as they are expensive and Ushi might not like it, or maybe i just have a wimp of a dog..

  3. Torie says:

    Oh right. I think I would want to see one first before I got one. I think Amazon have one for like £7 or something.Jen I hope you can get up to Belfast soon! Xxx.

  4. Terri says:

    they arent complicated really just like a brush and you use it in the same way anyone of your sighted family could show you as they come with instructions anyways i didnt know how to use one but heard they were good so brought one then figured out how to use it, you do have to be careful though as they are sharp

  5. Torie says:

    I suppose you would just use it like the comb. You know the way you use the comb like spreading butter? Xxx.


I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

