Another Guide Dog Talk

On Monday, my rehab worker asked me if I would like to attend
Another Talk About Guide dogs
Of course I said yes since I wasn’t doing anything anyway. So today we went off to visit one of the local folds.

We were talking to another group run by the RNIB. From what i’ve seen of these last two groups, They seem like a great idea, as they get people who are newly diagnosed as blind or partially sighted out and about, and they also seem quite relaxed and informal. This talk was no different. I debated if I should have something prepared, but thought i’d just go with the flow.

My rehab worker again started about the myths of owning a guide dog. I then told a bit about myself, then my rehab worker talked about more of the myths, and then the other services that guide dogs offer such as the
Sighted guiding service
I mentioned in a previous post. (This service isn’t yet fully operational yet).

My rehab worker also mentioned the
Buddy dogs
Service which places a dog with maybe a family of a child thinking of applying for a dog in the future. These dogs don’t guide, but have been rejected as guide dogs. They are mainly companion dogs, and teach children how to care for a dog, for example.

About an hour into the talk, Ushi started to whine a bit. This is not like her at all, so I don’t know what was up with her. She did settle in again, and after we had done our bit, questions were asked, and then my rehab worker asked me if i allowed people to pet Ushi, and if he wanted me to take her round everyone. It was like a big living room we were in so I said it was okay. She loved that part lol. We had no more whines after that so that was good.

I enjoyed this talk better than the last one as I felt I could just chat away where as the last one felt more awkward for some reason.

On Saturday i am attending one of the
Guide dogs fun days
Which are being held across the country. I am mainly going because there is a breefing about the changes to the organisation and think as a guide dog owner they might affect us. There will be a Go Walkies sponsored walk too as well as lots of other fun stuff.

I’m kind of dreading it as it’s gonna be distractions galore! Ushi won’t be working as I don’t know where to go though. She’ll still have her harness on though. I’ll keep you up to date on how it all goes.

Out of interest, i’m wondering do you find all this guide dog stuff boring? It’s just i’ve got very little comments recently :(. Maybe it’s a blogger issue though.

I’ll let you know how Saturday goes!

3 Comments on “Another Guide Dog Talk”

  1. Jen says:

    Good to see your enjoying the guide dog talks more and they are becoming more relaxed.The blog comment thing is normal, sometimes my blog goes through quiet spells too. I wouldn't take it too personally! 🙂

  2. cmlhe says:

    Hi tory:Your guide dog stof isn't borring. I really, really like it.

  3. Torie says:

    Hello and welcome to the blog. Thanks for visiting! I'm glad you're enjoying it. Xx.


I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

