This Time Last Year…Getting Lost

Today seems to be dragging in a little. I do have another post to write but i’ll do it later.

This time last year,
I got lost
I had decided to work Ushi before my instructor had come to teach me a new route. I think it had been raining the day before so Ushi wanted to go exploring. We ended up a path that i didn’t even know existed! I phoned my mum and said that there was a tree behind me and grass on my left lol.

I’m pleased to say that i have only gotten lost about 4 times since i got Ushi. Once was in the snow where ushi just couldn’t find a kerb, and another time was because they were sandblasting a house so it was really confusing. I have found though that there is never anyone around whenever you do get lost. It’s always that there are loads of people when you don’t need anyone. I always carry my phone with me just in case.

I do sometimes get a bit disorientated, but i can usually get back on track. The slightest thing can distract us from a leaf that catches Ushi’s attention, to us just not being on the ball.

We also learnt a route into town. I now use this route for my quilting course which i do every monday morning.

I think every partnership needs to get lost at least once. Yes it can be scarey, but if it happens, you’ll know why it happened the next time and it teaches you how to problem solve. I just wish more people were available when you needed them! Usually the common response is “i’m not from here” or “English isn’t my first language”. I remember one time coming out of our local Co opp, and i got a bit confused. A polish man came up to me and his daughter who could speak english directed me while she translated back to her dad what she was telling me!

Last night i got a call from a very distressed branch organiser. She was supposed to go to a fold with another guide dog owner, but the guide dog owner forgot, so I said i would do it. It was a good visit, and we were selling christmas cards and stuff. The branch organiser had said that she would take some of the stock that the Derry branch were unable to sell. All that stock is sold, but thankfully we only have one more event before the end of the year. We won’t start up again until January. January is when we get our next budget for the year too. So i think the branch organiser is hoping that one of the other branches have some more stock.

I nearly decapitated poor Ushi on the way out of the fold though. I was getting into the car and we had the car open. There was a car just beside us and i didn’t notice that ushi was standing behind the open car door. She then tried to put her head under the door and get in that way! I then had to step back so she could get out again.

I decided to work Ushi as soon as i got home because i hadn’t worked her before going to the fold. Ushi was rather confused and walked very slowly on our short walk. She’s been sleeping ever since really apart from eating and spending. I’ve never known such a lazy dog!

I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

