Why Should It Matter?

There was an article posted on twitter on Thursday and i just had to post it. I’ll post it first, then i’ll comment. It was posted on
This Website

Dear Customer who stuck up for his little brother,

you thought I didn’t really notice. But I did. I wanted to high-five you.
Yesterday I had a pair of brothers in my store. One was maybe between 15-17. He was a wrestler at the local high school. Kind of tall, stocky and handsome.
He had a younger brother, who was maybe about 10-12 years old. The only way to describe him was scrawny, neat, and very clean for a boy his age. They were
talking about finding a game for the younger one, and he was absolutely insisting it be one with a female character. I don’t know how many of y’all play
games, but that isn’t exactly easy. Eventually, I helped the brothers pick a game called Mirror’s Edge. The youngest was pretty excited about the game,
and then he specifically asked me.. “Do you have any girl color controllers?” I directed him to the only colored controllers we have which includes pink
and purple ones. He grabbed the purple one, and informed me purple was his FAVORITE.

The boys had been taking awhile, so their father eventually comes in. He see’s the game, and the controller, and starts in on the youngest about how he
needs to pick something different. Something more manly. Something with guns and fighting, and certainly not a purple controller. He tries to convince
him to get the new Zombie game “Dead Island.” and the little boy just stands there repeating “Dad, this is what I want, ok?” Eventually it turns into a
full blown argument complete with Dad threatening to whoop his son if he doesn’t choose different items.

That’s when big brother stepped in. He said to his Dad “It’s my money, it’s my gift to him, if it’s what he wants I’m getting it for him, and if your going
to hit anyone for it, it’s going to be me.” Dad just gives his oldest son a strong stern stare down, and then leaves the store. Little brother is crying
quietly, I walk over and ruffle his hair (yes this happened all in front of me.) I say “I’m a girl, and I like the color blue, and I like shooting games.
There’s nothing wrong with what you like. Even if it’s different than what people think you should.” I smile, he smiles back (my heart melts!) Big brother
then leans down, kisses little brother on the head, and says “Don’t worry dude.” They check out and leave, and all I can think is how awesome big brother
is, how sweet little brother is, and how Dad ought to be ashamed for trying to make his son any other way.

First of all what do you think of the article? I’ll say what i think.

First of all why should it matter if you don’t like certain colours that you are “meant to like”? Is it really that much of a big deal if a boy likes getting make up on/his nails done/his hair done a certain way/wants to dress in womens clothes/do “girlie” things? Should it matter if a boy wants to choose “Girlie” games?

My uncle is in fact gay, and got extremely drunk before telling my mum because he was worried in case he couldn’t see us. (We were quite young). Of course mum didn’t mind at all and we are still in contact with him. I am not bothered at all. He is a nice person and that is what i go on. I don’t think “He is gay. I can’t hang out with him.”. I don’t think that he is disgusting or anything. I don’t see anything wrong with it at all. Being gay is part of him.

A few years ago my then friend sent me a message on facebook saying she was Bisexual. I sent her a message back saying that we could still be friends and that it didn’t affect that. She wrote back saying that she was totally shocked and that she thought our friendship would end. (Unfortunately it did end but not because of that).

I’m probably offending someone but if you’re hung up on the fact that a person is gay, then you can just stop reading. Why the hell should it matter?

When i first read the article i thought that one of the brothers was autistic or something the way he was saying about what colours he liked. He wasn’t.

I recently watched a series called
“My transexual Summer”
Which followed the struggles 7 trans people felt living in a normal society. It was quite sad to see how unconfident some of them were. Even some of the reactions from employers and such.

I always smile when the media covers things like this. How would you feel in that persons shoes? I’m sure many people wouldn’t like some of the comments that can be made against them.

It really doesn’t and shouldn’t matter what you are. It’s the person inside and you can’t “catch” anything by being around someone who is gay/trans/bisexual/black/white/etc.

Sorry this sounds more like a rant, but i just felt like i needed to write whenever i read that article. I know this isn’t my usual writing. I really do hope nobody is offended.

What do you all think?

3 Comments on “Why Should It Matter?”

  1. @NadjaOberg says:

    BS"DDear Torie,Why should we be offended? This is your blog and you have the right to write what you want. I think the brothers in the article is brave and their love for each other shines through.xxx

  2. I echo the first comment: this is your blog and so write what you want. :)Also, that article is fantastic. And, you're right: it shouldn't matter.

  3. ham spam strawberry jam! oops sorry, don't delete me. tis me Julz, great article and way to go big bro. I have a friend who is bi and one or two who are gay and i've no problem with that. i think kids shold be free to express themselves. Boooo! to the dad. He sounds a bit like Phil Mitchell in Eastenders.


I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

