Special Commendation Lunch

Today was the
Guide dog of the year lunch
That our team decided to hold for the nominees from Northern Ireland who didn’t make it to the ceremony itself in London at the start of July.

We were heading to
The titanic centre
To eat. I started to panick when i realised it was a “set menu” as i knew it probably would be something horrible.

The first impressions are that the centre is pretty big. It has underground parking at £1.50 per hour. (It’s a good job i put a point in there!). It is a very wide, cold open building. I was amazed at how packed it was!

We waited until everyone arrived. I chatted with the guide dog mobility assistant (GDMA) who trains the dogs, and Ushi was all over her pawing and going crazy.

I found the restaurant very loud when we walked in. Our cutlery then came in paper packets. I’m not sure why as the eating ends were pointed out the way. When our starter came it was presented on a wooden tray for each of us and it was in a cup. The soup was potato and leak, with cheese. Boy was it cheesy! I couldn’t finish it all as it was so rich. I felt a little sick with it. One person commented that it was more like a fondu.

Thankfully the main course was more exciting and it was the one i was looking forward to. It was chicken with crispy parcinips (thought it was potatos) and lentels. It was much more enjoyable thankfully.

We then went up to the “titanic” staircase to get a rare photo. Apparently nobody was allowed up there. Then it was down to another floor to see the clothes the actors wore. We came back to the restaurant again to get our certificates. They were presented in a lovely frame. Mine said “Specsavers guide dog of the year awards. Young persons achievement” and my name. It was signed by the chief executive of the whole organisation.

I would like to thank all the staff from the Northern Ireland team for nominating me. I felt priviliged.

As for the the Titanic centre, it seems rather posh, or at least that was my impressions. Don’t think i’d like to visit it again. Not for the tour anyway.

Thanks again to the district team!



I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)