Going Back To Basics

I had to go right back to basics with Ushi earlier this week.

Ushi had taken to rushing after her meals. She wouldn’t come down stairs with the pups around, so i kind of had to nearly drag her down. She’d then spend and then rush back upstairs resulting in her being sick. I asked twitter on Sunday night what i could do to stop it. I figured it was because of the pups she was rushing as she wasn’t sick at my uncles when we were up seeing the Script.

Someone suggested i take Ushi down on the lead after meals and bring her back up again. So i thought it would be worth a try.

Well this morning Ushi was sick but apart from that we’ve managed 4 days without her being sick. When we’re going downstairs after food, i’ll put her on the lead, and when she goes to rush to get away from the pups, I stop and give her a correction on her collar. This seems to be working, and she’s even walked downstairs when we’re going for a walk without rushing which is brilliant. I’ve also been getting her to sit when we get upstairs to chill for a minute. The only thing she isn’t doing is sitting at the back door, but that’s because the floor is wet or there is a pup behind her. I’ve just been saying sit though to get her to.

Ushi has even started playing with some of the pups since Monday. This was after 5 weeks of her being terrified of them! We’re keeping one called Angel and Ushi will play with her and has put her in her place a couple of times. I’m so glad she has accepted them now! It just took time. 2 of them have homes this weekend, and the rest are going next including 4 to Scotland!

I’m going to keep Ushi on her lead after meals until the rest of the pups go just to make sure she won’t rush. That was what most worried me. I’m so glad though that within such a short space of time she’s being so good. That seemed to be all i needed was just to go back a few steps with her. Hopefully she’s got the message!

One Comment on “Going Back To Basics”


I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

