The Principles of Design: Accessibility

I love the fact that wordpress has a section dedicated to accessibility. I was thrilled when this article popped in to my inbox the other day. I’m not saying that all blogging platforms should have an accessibility section, but it really does help.

Thank you WordPress 🙂

The Daily Post

Hi bloggers! My name’s Kjell Reigstad, and I’m a designer at Automattic. This is part three in my monthly series on “The Principles of Design.” In this series, I share some of the basic tenets of design, and we explore how to apply them to your blog.

Previous installments:
Clarity
Visual Hierarchy
Color Harmony
Design Iteration & Feedback

Not everyone who visits your blog will experience your design the same way you do. For instance, two colors that seem totally distinct to you may appear quite similar to someone else. A paragraph that looks great to you may be unreadable to others. There are a number of visual impairments that can drastically alter how people see your blog. As designers, it’s important to create a positive experience for all readers. This is the concept of accessible design.

Below, we’ll learn about some common types of vision impairment and review tips for how to design for them.

Low…

View original post 939 more words

I'd love to hear from you, so comment away! (I won't tollerate spammers though)

